How to make Red Velvet Cupcakes from scratch, a step by step guide.

I love a good cupcake.  Add cream cheese icing to that cupcake and I am so cheating on my diet that day.  My favorite to make right now is the Red Velvet Cupcake.  I follow a recipe that is mostly from Paula Deen’s Red Velvet Cupcake Recipe, but I have changed it here and there to my liking.  Here is my step by step guide on how to make a red velvet cupcake with cream cheese icing.  I am going to give you the full recipe, but I am only making a quarter batch in the photos so if you compare the two you will have more in your bowls then I have in mine.

For this recipe you will need the following items.

  • 2 large eggs (room temperature)
  • 1 Cup Buttermilk (room temperature)
  • 1 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter (room temperature)
  • 2 tbsp. Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 Cup – 2 Cups Sugar
  • 2 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 2 tbsp. Red Food Color
  • 1-3 tsp. White Distilled or Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium size bowl sift together flour, salt, baking soda and cocoa powder. Set aside.

In another Medium size bowl whisk together buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla and red food coloring.  Set aside.

In your blender cream together butter and sugar till fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time blending well for each.

Beat in the buttermilk mix and dry mix.  Alternate the two mixes to or three times until completely incorporated. I suggest thirds at a time.

This is what your batter should look like when complete.

Fill your cups 2/3 full for cupcakes that just rise to the top of the pan.  Bake for 20-22 minutes turning the pans half way through to ensure consistency.  Check the cupcakes by inserting a toothpick into the center of the cupcake.  If the toothpick comes out mostly clean, if not a little red :D, remove from oven.

Allow your cupcakes to cool for a few minutes in the pan and then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

Now it’s time for my favorite part; the cream cheese icing!

What you need for this recipe:

  • 1 Lb (2 8oz. packages) cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 Cups Unsalted Butter (softened)
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 4 Cups sifted Confectioners Sugar

Sift the confectioners sugar into a bowl.  Set aside.

In your mixer, beat together the cream cheese, butter and vanilla extract until smooth.

Add confectioners sugar and beat until fluffy.

Once you have achieved the consistency you wanted you should refrigerate your icing until your cupcakes have completely cooled.

To apply icing you can use any technique you like.  I love to use my little cupcake decorator.  You fill it ,choose which decorative tip you like and go to town.  Easy as pie.  This set even came with a cupcake filler that you can use to shoot icing into the cupcake.

Once you have iced your cupcakes you can decide if they need further decoration.  I know they look plenty good now, but I am going to gild this lily and add sugar sprinkles.

If you really want to go all out I can also suggest a little shaved white chocolate on top and even a fresh raspberry or cherry.  There you have it.  I always get complimented on my red velvet cupcakes and now you can too.  I hope you like them!

3 thoughts on “How to make Red Velvet Cupcakes from scratch, a step by step guide.

Leave a comment