From There to Here: Fitness Update

20130303-112833.jpg

Yes my friends, I am still on my journey.
Before I get into the nitty-gritty, I just want to say that I have been blessed to have such a wonderful support system in my life that has given me the opportunity to make big changes in my diet and fitness routines. I can not thank my amazing BF for all of the emotional and financial support over the years and my amazing family and bloggy-buddies who continue to provide me with new challenges and goals.
Last month I started my newest combination of P90X and TurboFire mixed together. I would say it is working pretty well. I made it through the first three weeks of the basic P90X schedule with some slight alterations. On my first, third and fifth days of the week I do a 15 minute HIIT session before heading to the gym and doing the prescribed strength training for the day. On the second, fourth and sixth days I do either a 45 or 55 minute TurboFire workout or I do P90X Kenpo with the addition of my new weighted gloves. Oh boy do those make a difference in the experience. I followed that routine for the first three weeks and then on my recover week I followed the regular P90X schedule with an added cardio day instead of a stretching day in the middle of the week where I worked on my 5K time. I hit a new PR on that by the way, 29:32 minutes, even with the added incline at my sister’s insistence. This is how she trained for her last Warrior Dash and as I have committed to that take part in the race this year, I am taking her advice.
This seems to be going well so far. I am burning anywhere between 300 calories on a light cardio day to 950 calories on a HIIT/Strength training day. It is weird to burn almost as many calories in an hour and a half as I am supposed to eat to go on living, but don’t worry everyone I more than make up for it in the kitchen. I am tracking my food and making sure to take my supplements pre and post workout.
As for progress I think the picture says it all. I am stoked that I have come so far and I can’t wait to see where I can go in the future. I hope you all will stick with me through these days of smaller and smaller gains. I figure as long as I don’t plateau or regress any progress is a step in the right direction.
Please let me know what you think of my new routine. Do you have any suggestions, comments, concerns? I’d love to get your feedback.
Thanks for reading!

10 thoughts on “From There to Here: Fitness Update

  1. You are just so inspirational, and it sounds like you’ve found a training program you really like. I still am in awe of your awesome progress. Keep it up!

    • You are too sweet. Just so you know you are my inspiration. We can have an inspirational circle of barbell squats if we just get a few more people in here. LOL! My only worry is that I am doing too much now. I don’t want to mess up my metabolism or anything. What do you think future trainer?

      • Thank you … That means a lot! I’m glad we have eachother to bounce ideas, good days, bad days, and everything in between off of eachother.
        My thoughts on “doing too much” – how do you physically feel on a day to day basis? Are you tired all the time? Cranky? Is your skin freaking out or are you having digestive issues? If you’re not habitually in a state of disarray you’re probably not overdoing it. Also, make sure you are eating enough. And it’s probably more than you think because you are pretty muscular! There’s no harm in moving more as long as you are eating more and you are taking time for some r&r regularly – by scheduling it in and also by just taking it when you absolutely need it. Hope this helps?

      • You are awesome! I always worry I’m overdoing it on eating, but I generally eat my three squares and plenty of healthy snacks in between. I always feed myself when I’m hungry even if its just an apple or a handful of raw almonds. Hummus and mushrooms are my new addictions. Not together mind you. 🙂
        I’m glad we have each other too. It really helps to have friends who are really into their own health and fitness and not just guessing or giving me some try this fad diet bs.

  2. This is the first before picture I’ve seen so WOW! I love that you managed to get the same outfit on for the after picture. :)It does sound like you are doing a lot, but how can that be bad? I’m a yo-yo fitness/dieter. I’m either full on or full off. that is probably not good, but it sounds like you just keep going forward. Maybe once you have reached what your ultimate gola is, you can taper down and find how to best maintain? My friend is a beachbody coach and that is what she did. Now she works out only 3 times a week, has a rock hard body and never gains a pound. She’s 46 with 4 kids….

    • Wow, your friend sounds like she’s got it locked down. I want to go to there. 🙂 thanks for the kind words. I like to do the challenging workout because they motivate me to keep coming back for more. The less I do the less likely I’ll want to keep doing it. I think it’s my mom’s fault. Lol.

  3. I don’t think I have seen this before picture, Christen!! I remember seeing your “before” like your “skinny-fat” before pics, but never knew where you started.

    This is amazing!! You are totally rocking these workouts, and you look gorgeous doing it! 🙂

    • Awww, thanks so much Jennifer! I really have come a long way. I don’t want to ever go back to that unhealthy, unhappy girl and I know that with bloggy-buddies like you guys I have all the support I need. Great job on your stair climb by the way! I am thrilled for you!

  4. So inspiring. I haven’t seen your posts lately so I thought I’d comment on some older things you’ve shared. You’re a great example of hard work and dedication. Hope you are doing well!

Leave a comment