October Goals

I am not one to set monthly goals, I like to do more on the lines of quarterly goals or longer, but since I just finished P90X and haven’t yet chosen a new program I figure that it is best if I set myself some goals to achieve this month.

I want to keep my workouts up to six times a week with one rest day.  I want to do three days of conditioning and three days of cardio.  I want to do more leg work this month as most of my training in the past three months has been upper body.  I want to maintain my current weight, but I also want to gain muscle so if I go up in weight at all I want it to be due to increased muscle mass.

How do I plan to achieve my goals?  Well I am still writing up my weight training routines from my P90X workouts and taking them to the gym, which I will continue to do.  I have been doing 5 sets of 5 reps trying to reach a PR each time on each exercise.  I know that it’s unrealistic to reach PR each and every time I do an exercise, but I am just going to do my best and see what happens.  I will be doing upper body work twice a week with legs once a week, every other week with the opposite weeks being and leg conditioning twice a week and arms once a week, while maintaining three days of cardio each week.  I plan on adding my BBL cardio routines back in to my regular sessions.  Yes, they are shorter than the P90X cardio routines, but I find them to be more intense as they have few breaks and a higher level of activity.  I will still be doing abs at least three to four days a week as well, most likely adding them to my strength training routines.

As far as my diet is concerned I plan on sticking to 1800 calories on cardio days and 2000-2200 on my strength training days.  I hope to increase my protein while keeping my carbs the same or lower than I already have them.  As far as sugars, I am a sugar addict, but I try to only get my sugars from fruits and natural sources for the most part.  I will let myself have desserts, but try to keep them low cal.  Cheat days will be taken, but not very often and I will still be making 90% of our meals at home.

I think that although these goals may seem unrealistic to some, others may find them rather mediocre.  That aside, I have to do what is best for me and I think that for the next few months leading up to the holiday season it will be best if I focus on challenging myself to stick with a proven system that has, for me, already shown results.  After the holidays I am hoping to up the game a bit and perhaps take on INSANITY.  That is, if Santa brings it to me for Christmas.  I have been very good all year and I think I deserve a little Shaun T. in my life.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me?  Are you a goal setter?  How often do you workout?  What routines work best for you?  I’d love to hear your goals and advice.

Thanks for reading.

4 thoughts on “October Goals

  1. I think you’ve accomplished so much and I know you will stick with whatever program you set out to do. JUST DON’T STOP is all the advice I have which I know you already know. I’m not much of a goal setter. Just a do’er. I clearly love CrossFit but I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea so you gotta do what makes you happy. I’ve learned with or without CrossFit that lifting heavy is awesome! I don’t even care about the physical benefits, it just makes me feel good to know I am strong and getting stronger!

Leave a Reply

