Shakeology Review

So as you all know I have been doing P90X for about eight going on nine weeks now and all of my Beachbody love has paid off with some free Shakeology samples.  If you don’t know what Beachbody, P90X or Shakeology are then you should probably check out the website here.

I was lucky enough to receive these samples thanks to a girlfriend of mine from college, Michelle LaTorre, who also happens to be a Beachbody Coach!  Yay me!  She was sweet enough to send three samples of the supplement for me to try and I thought that I would share my thoughts on the product with you.

A year or two back, when I started working out more regularly, and by “more regularly” I mean more than once a month, I took to drinking muscle milk after my workouts as protein supplements and meal replacements during the day.  They worked fine as a supplement and gave me the added protein boost I needed right after a workout.  I was slightly addicted to the chocolate flavor for a while, but inevitably I grew tired of them and eventually gave them up altogether.

Fast forward to now and I workout between my breakfast and lunch so that I have a meal immediately following my post workout shower.  Usually I have a peanut butter sandwich or my microwave fiber muffin with a little peanut butter and jelly.  I love me some peanut butter.  It was nice to have a chance to change up my normal routine and see if a supplement would help amp up my recovery and boost my muscle-building, though I doubt that just three will suffice to give me absolute proof of that.

Day 1

Day one was Legs and Back day.  Legs and Back is one of my favorite workouts.  One, it gives me the opportunity to improve the tone and definition of my legs, which is my major problem area and two, it breaks up the monotony of squats and lunges with pull-ups every third or fourth movement so you can do more and harder leg moves throughout the hour.  Immediately after I finish Legs and Back I move on to Ab Ripper X which is 11 moves at 25 reps per set and I like to add an extra set at the end because I like to punish my core.  This is the type of workout that usually leaves my arms and legs a bit on the floppy side for a few hours after.  One legged wall squats and beach scissors HURT!  I preformed my workout as planned and pushed myself a bit harder than the last time, then I limped to the shower and got all that nasty off of me.  I picked up the Vegan Tropical Strawberry and grabbed my Ninja.

I used the packet mix, some ice and a cup of soy milk and blended away.  I should have blended a little longer, but I was tired and in a hurry to get some fuel in me so it was a bit gritty, but the taste was very good.  I would say that the flavor was probably the best that I have had in a supplement category.  Here is the nutritional info that I pulled from MyNetDiary app on my iPhone.  *The totals on the left include the soy milk; the totals on the right are supplement alone.

  • Total Calories: 258 – 160
  • Fat: 5g   – 1g
  • Carbs: 28g   – 20g
  • Protein: 22g   – 15g
  • Trans Fat: 0
  • Saturated Fat: 0
  • Cholesterol: 0
  • Sodium: 188mg   – 70mg
  • Net Carbs: 23g
  • Fiber: 5g   – 4g
  • Sugars: 16g   – 10g
  • Calcium: 296mg

In contrast here is the info for my old Light Chocolate Muscle Milk, 8.5 fl oz.

  • Total Calories: 160
  • Fat: 5g
  • Carbs: 9g
  • Protein: 20g
  • Trans Fat: 0
  • Saturated Fat: 2g
  • Cholesterol: 5mg
  • Sodium: 210mg
  • Net Carbs: 8g
  • Fiber: 1g
  • Sugars: 3g
  • Calcium: 350mg

So you can see that while they have about the same amount of protein there are some differences in the amount of fiber and carbs in both. While my soy and Shakeology blend is higher in overall calories the supplement itself is 160 calories, which is equal to that of the muscle milk.  I prefer the extra fiber and less sodium and don’t mind a few extra calories in the long run since I just worked off a bunch and will continue to burn as I continue to move throughout the day.

I did notice a boost to my energy after I started digesting the supplement, which was really needed because usually I am a little draggy after my workout.  I felt full and satisfied which was also nice because sometime supplements alone just don’t do the trick as a meal replacement.  I stayed full too, it wasn’t a half hour later and I am grazing in the kitchen kind of full; I am talking I wasn’t hungry again until dinner full.

Day 2

The following day was Kenpo, which is a blended martial arts routine.  Again, I like to punish the parts of my body that don’t seem to want to tone so I added ankle weights to the mix.  I was running at full capacity for an hour.  I was exhausted.  I showered and headed to the kitchen and picked up the Greenberry packet.  I was worried folks, I am not gonna lie.  I thought there is no way this green thing is going to taste good.  It’s going to be like the time my old roommate talked me into drinking a wheat grass shot, EW! I was wrong.  I was, again, surprisingly tasty.

Think sweet with a hint of mint.  I used the packet, ice and soy milk again and got the same energy kick and the same full feeling.

Day 4

Day three was my rest day and so I didn’t want to waste my last sample, CHOCOLATE, on a day that I wouldn’t need the boost so I waited until the following day.  Day four was Yoga X.  What can I say about Yoga X except, ouch, my bum!  You do 45 minutes of Chaturanga, Upward Dog, Downward Dog, Leg Lifts into Warrior poses, Half Moon, Prayer Twist, Right Angle poses, and the list goes on and just when you think you are done you realize you still have 45 minutes left of balance poses, stretching and YOGA BELLY SEVENS! Ugh.  I was feeling really good this day and when I finished my Yoga X I still had some energy left so I put on my workout shoes and headed to the gym at our complex.  There I went a bit overboard for another 45 minutes and then came home looking like a drowned rat.  Another shower and my last sample packet.

Because I had put such a hurting on myself I thought I might have play with this packet a bit.  I added my usual ice and soy milk, but then I added PEANUT BUTTER!  Oh. My. Lord.  It was like drinking a mixture of a Wendy’s frosty and a peanut butter cup.  I have to say this was my favorite Shakeology day.  Was it high on the calories?  A bit, at 429.  However, I had just done over two hours of butt kicking and the 32g of Protein was just what my body needed.  My energy level came back up and again I was full until dinner.

All in all I would recommend this supplement/meal replacement if you are looking to add a supplement to your workout routine.  It may cost a bit more than buying a case of muscle milk at Costco, but I think if you are looking to improve your overall health as well as build muscle and control mid-day cravings it would be worth it.  Once I get a paying gig again, no I am not being paid for this review or for any review I do on my blog; or for doing my blog for that matter, I will see about incorporating this into my regime.  For now, my broke little butt will be recovering on my regular diet of peanut butter and cold milled flax.  HA! 😀

If you have questions let me know.  I linked to Michelle’s professional site above if you want to contact her about information for the Beachbody programs or the supplement, because she is a cool chick and I like to help out my buddies when I can.  You can also reach her at DyerFitness@gmail.com.  I hope you all found this a bit helpful and interesting.  Again, I am not being paid in any way for this review it is solely based on my own opinions about the three free samples I was lucky enough to receive.

 

2 thoughts on “Shakeology Review

  1. I was wondering about this because when i did the insanity videos they had a commercial on everyone of them about shakeology.
    Btw you really kicked ass on your chocolate day. Thats a long time to work out!

Leave a Reply

