Zucchini Noodle, Chicken and Vegetable Lasagna

I love me some Italian food.  I could eat Italian food every day if my diet would let me.  I love the sauces and the spices and especially the pastas, but unfortunately a lot of pastas are really high in carbs and not so high in fiber.

I was craving Italian for a few weeks now and since I have decided to try new recipes, I thought this would be the perfect time to try something that my mom used to tell me about when I was little.

According to my mom, Zucchini is one of those crazy fruit/vegetables that can take on almost any flavor or texture you need in a recipe.  She used to make us Apple pie with Zucchini and slip it to us on the sly when we were little.  I thought, well why not give it a try in place of lasagna noodles.  I’ve seen recipes for this before, but since I have a pretty good recipe for Lasagna already I decided I would use my regular recipe and sub sliced Zucchini for the noodles.

So here it is, my step by step guide to making Zucchini Noodle, Chicken and Veggie Lasagna

Some but not all ingredients. This is my prep work. I like to pre-dice/mince/chop all of my ingredients to make things go a bit smoother and faster. *My number 1 tool in my kitchen are ceramic ramekins. They are a huge time/clean up saver and can help keep you from creating cross contamination situations.

What you will need.

  • 3 Small/Medium or 1 Large Zucchini
  • 1/4-1/2 chopped onion
  • 1 head of broccoli steamed and chopped
  • 5 mini sweet peppers, sliced
  • 2 Cups Spinach
  • 2-3 Artichoke Hearts, chopped
  • 2-3 Cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 3-4 sliced mushrooms
  • 5-10 cherry tomatoes
  • cooked chicken breast chopped (I used leftover roasted chicken that I pulled apart to bite sized pieces.)
  • All Spices are to taste:
  • Italian spice
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • chili Powder
  • red pepper flake
  • cayenne pepper
  • 1 Cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 Cup Skim Ricotta Cheese
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Shredded Italian Cheese (A bit more for the top)
  • Provolone (Optional)
  • Mozzarella (Optional)
  • EVOO (for sauteing veggies)
  • 1 can or jar of low sodium pasta sauce

Yes you can sub ground beef or turkey for the chicken, but you will have to have that pre-cooked as well.  If you are using turkey I recommend seasoning it with the spice blend when you cook it before putting it in the sauce, same for the beef.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees


Reduce your spinach in some garlic and pepper flake. Once reduced set aside to cool along with your steamed chopped broccoli.


Using the same pan add a bit more olive oil and caramelize the onions. This will take time.  You will want to use medium low heat so you don’t burn the onions.

Once almost caramelized add your peppers, mushrooms, artichoke hearts tomatoes and remaining garlic. Add spices to taste, except for Italian blend season, if you are using turkey or beef you will have already used your seasonings.  Instead, you will want to season the vegetables with a little salt and pepper, but not much.

Once the veggies have cooked through, add sauce and chicken then set aside until layering.


In a separate bowl mix together yogurt, ricotta, shredded cheese, egg, Italian herbs and broccoli and spinach and set aside for layering.

Slice your zucchini either into rounds or into long strips.  You can drizzle a bit of Olive Oil on them if you like, but I don’t find it to be necessary.


Dab a little of the cheese sauce (just a spoonful should do it) on the bottom of a greased baking dish.  This will help keep the zucchini slices from moving around while you are adding layers.

Place zucchini slices on bottom of pan.

Then add your sauce layer.

Next drop spoonfuls of the cheese sauce blend and spread evenly across the sauce.

This is an optional step.  I love a really gooey, cheesy lasagna so I topped my cheese sauce with provolone or mozzarella slices that I had pulled into pieces.

Begin the layers again, following the same pattern.  Then layer again until your pan is full.

Sprinkle with shredded cheese, then cover with foil and bake for 45 minutes. Remove the foil and cook again 5-10 more minutes until cheese has browned and then let rest for 15 minutes before cutting. * When I put my lasagna into the oven, I usually put it on the middle rack and place a foil lined baking sheet under it to keep there from being a big boil over mess.  This way it’s easy clean up by just removing the baking sheet and throwing out the soiled foil.  😀


It worked like a charm and although I am still more of a fan of the lasagna noodles, I still tucked into this big time.  The flavors were wonderful and the zucchini had a nice al dente bite.  My BF was a big fan as well.  So there you have it; my lower carb Zucchini noodle lasagna.

I hope you like it! Let me know if you have any questions.

*Just little tidbits of advice that have helped me over the years.  I could be crazy though, probably am.  😀

14 thoughts on “Zucchini Noodle, Chicken and Vegetable Lasagna

      • I do drink milk occasionally, we keep it in the house. I just don’t chug it like I would like to. And if I have Paleo Crunch cereal then it’s on like donkey kong. I also try to eat veggies with calcium. And in addition I also take a multivitamin that has calcium in it. I probably don’t get enough in the long run and need to amp it up. You forget to think about those kinds of things sometimes!!

  1. Alright, Christen.. this looks SO yummy.. and anything smothered in cheese is usually a “win” in my book. I’ve been toying with the idea of trying zucchini for awhile now, and now may have to give in to it. I’d sub a few things (ew, mushrooms and artichokes..) but I think I can do this..! I’ll let you know if I decide to try.. it’s just scary to me.. hehe.

    • You will do fine! Just think summer squash lasagna but with zucchini instead. 😀 I didn’t like mushrooms and artichokes before this year. Mushrooms were a texture dislike that I got past and artichoke was a I don’t think I will like it so I won’t try it, but once I tried them I loved them. 😀 My taste buds are going all adult on me.

      • I’m waiting for my taste buds to grow up still 🙂
        I’ve done spaghetti squash (FAVE!) but not summer squash.. I tried acorn squash “faux-tmeal” and didn’t care for it.. but I really might try this..

      • Haha, awesome.. I’m still trying to get there (though I’ve made progress with spaghetti squash, sweet potatoes, and now cauliflower!). I’ll say things are gross and my mother will tell me, “Oh, you used to love [insert gross thing here]”.. Psh. I think she’s telling stories. Cooked spinach, shrimp, cooked carrots. Blehhh.
        BUT.,. I am getting better at at least TRYING.

  2. Yum! And just in time for zucchini overload month here! It seems like in August everywhere you go, somebody hands you a zucchini or 6… I will definitely be doing this one soon!

  3. Yum, Christen, this looks amazing!!!! I bet I could do this in the crockpot–do ya think? Because I’ve actually started cooking a bit these last two weeks and the crockpot is what started it all. I’m going to try it after my vacation. 🙂

    • I don’t see why not. I love using my crock pot. I try an adapt a lot of recipes to it so that I can just set everything up in the morning and not have to worry about it in the afternoon. 😀 I hope all is going well with you. Where are you going on vacation?

Leave a Reply

