AND…. 100!

So this is my 100th post!  How very intimidating.  I wanted to make this post special and not just another of the bunch, but then I realized that most people don’t really want to read a post that only talks about writing a post.  Now I am not sure what I want to write about and so here we are.

When I started this blog, back in February, I wasn’t quite sure if I would continue past a certain point.  Starting a project is always difficult and when it is a project that is completely new to you, can seem daunting.  The learning curve for blogging is not extremely high, mostly you just show up and write, but the intricacies of the writing itself; what to write about, what themes to pick, what is your message, how do you build an audience, how often should you post, can keep you up nights.

I have been so very lucky to have made some wonderful B.B.s (bloggy  buddies) here on wordpress.  When I wasn’t sure if my blogs were being read, or my messages were clear, these faithful followers have sent me some motivational love and support in my comments lines and have kept my spirits up.  Visiting their pages and reading their blogs has helped me to grow as a writer, reader and person.

So thank you to Martha at marthalicious.wordpress.com.  You have helped me learn that there is always time to do something good for myself.  You are an entrepreneur, a new home owner, a lifting diva and a true inspiration as to what you can accomplish if you are truly committed. (I don’t mean that in an institutionalized kind of way, though I am sure at times you feel like it could be true.)

Thank you Bethany at projectwhitespace.com.  You are truly in inspiration.  You seem to always find the good in others and give them a boost, sometimes when they didn’t even know they needed that boost.  Your honesty and integrity have shone through in each post you have written.  You have taught me to constantly push myself beyond what I though my limits as a blogger would be and into new territories that I had not even considered.

Thank you Heather Christina Schmidt at heatherchristenaschmidt.com.  You have taught me to always try to find the bright spot in any situation.  As a self proclaimed B(itch) logger, you entertain your readers with the chaos of the modern SAHM’s life while simultaneously laying your soul bare to your readers.  You talk about the tough issues of family and mommy life in a way that is accessible to your entire audience, all while keeping a sense of humor that is sharper than a razors edge.

Thank you Jennifer at jenniferhudy.wordpress.com.  You are one super spunky lady!  The newest addition to my must reads list, you have inspired me to keep going even when it seems like I should stop.  Your blog is so upbeat and full of energy.  You take pride in your accomplishments and hold yourself accountable.  You don’t punish yourself for little flubs in your routine, but you do acknowledge the room you have to grow.  Visiting your page always brings a smile to my face and I love how much your personality shines through in every post you write.

Thank you ladies for giving me the motivation I needed to continue this blog.  Your supportive comments and encouragements have helped me in so many aspects of my life.  I am truly blessed to have come into contact with you all.

There are a few more blogs that I follow closely but have not had the opportunity to become so intimately acquainted, oh that sounds kinda dirty ;), with that I would like to share with the rest of you readers.

For finding beauty in the simple elegance of the written word I suggest fivereflections.wordpress.com.

For the ultimate fitness/crossfit junkie, you may like to visit idrankthecfkoolaid.wordpress.com.

For a unique view of fashion and culture from across the sea, go to aquahlekkergarla.wordpress.com.

For great beauty product trials and reviews with a lot of heart and humor, I suggest anonymoushedonist.wordpress.com.

A finally thank you readers! You have been so kind and supportive.  You inspire me to keep writing and keep trying new things.  You keep my mind on a constant lookout for interesting experiences that I can share with you and I thank you so very much for showing up and reading.

I will leave you all now with a few things that have failed to last as long this blog, some of them sacrificing their very existence in the struggle to keep me going.

KAHN! the basil plant. You served me well dear friend, but alas you did not last as long as this blog. You will be missed. At least until I get around to buying KAHN 2! or as I shall call him “The Wrath of KAHN!”

Oregon Apartment. It lasted a whole four months which, again, was not as long as this blog. Can’t say as I miss you much, old apartment, but I am certainly glad to have had the opportunity to create this blog in you. So, thanks for all the rain Oregon. There couldn’t have been much writing getting done if it had been nicer out.

My favorite Lucky Brand Dungarees. I remember when my Mom purchased you for me a few years back. I was so happy to have started to lose a little weight and so stoked to find you at the Ross Dress for Less at over half off your original $80 price tag. Now you are my lounge-around-the-house jeans. My, I-have-to-walk-the-dog-but-don’t-want-to-bother-putting-on-real-clothes, jeans. I guess I can’t be too sad that you don’t fit anymore, but I will miss being able to wear a pair of lucky brands out in the real world.

I will miss you most of all light weight exercise band. You started this journey with me and helped me get where I am today. How did I repay you for all of your resistance training wonderfulness? By pulling your handle off. I am sorry it had to come to this, but I guess I just outgrew you. I can’t really say “it’s not you, it’s me”, because really, it is you. Your awesome hand grips will be missed.

14 thoughts on “AND…. 100!

  1. I am so honored you mentioned me, and so humbled. Especially lately as I’ve fallen a bit off the blog-wagon. I know I haven’t commented as regularly, thought I DO read your posts on my phone. I was thinking today I need to get back on track with this, as I miss it. 🙂 The community is what keeps me a blogger.
    I am definitely going to check out some of these other bloggers you listed.
    I love the pictures you posted and the theme “things that didn’t last as long as your blog.” Pretty cool. I also name some of my plants. I had a Rudy. And then I had a Rudy 2. 🙂
    I hope you stick around for your 200 blog post, and more! I’ve had a great time following you and watching your blog evolve.

  2. Woohoo 100 posts! I feel exactly the way you feel. Blogging can take over your world even though you don’t mean for it too. I catch myself making a rough draft in my head during my drive to work in the mornings. And THANK YOU for the shout out ツ
    Also, I heart my 3 pairs of Lucky Brand Jeans as you do. My most favorite had to go because I did lose pounds, My next favorite are on their way out as well due to weight loss and falling apart. I have one more Lucky pair that fit but could fit more comfortably with a few pounds lost. Still trying to get there!

    Keep on writing. I doubt you will lose any of us as readers!

    • Thank you! 3 PAIRS of Lucky Brands?! I am jealous! I love their jeans, but they are just so dang expensive.
      You keep on writing too. You made me try doing handstands the other night in my apartment. It did not go so well, but it gave me a new goal. 😀

      • Hahah, well there is a store here in TX called Stein Mart that used to sell Lucky for like $50 and if there was a sale I could get them as low as $30. Problem is they are older styles, limited sizes, etc. So it was a gamble but I did manage the 3 pairs that I have that are my faves. Sadly they haven’t had them in their stores lately.

        I know quite a few folks who wouldn’t dare going into a handstand so just keep trying. You may need someone to catch your legs as well. Try doing headstands first if just being upside down is hard to deal with.

  3. You are AWESOME! I love this post – it is a great #100. Your blog is so inspiring and helpful, I hope you NEVER stop!! 🙂 I love your list of things that lasted less time than your blog … especially the plant. Poor Kahn!! Can’t wait for 101 and beyond!!

  4. Congrats on your 100th! I’m so proud of you for being such an inspiration to our little blogging community.
    Thanks for the shout out – it means a lot! I am so excited we crossed paths, you have been a great blog buddy!
    Retiring old jeans is so bittersweet – I don’t even want to think about how much money I wasted on designer stuff I can’t wear anymore – at least you got yourself a good deal… I am jonesing for some retail therapy right about now, though!

    • I hear you on that. I would love to get some new jeans at least, but we will have to wait until after we get the BF all situated for his next job where they want him to wear dress shirts, khakis and a tie. He is freaking out because he has never had a job where he couldn’t go in a light weight polo, jeans and his allstars. 😀 I told him he is spoiled.

      • I think my fiancé would shit a brick if he had to get fancy for work – his summer attire this year has been cargo shorts and “beaters” with the occasional black Harley tshirt on days when it goes below 70 degrees. Lol. He is the spoiled one.
        I can’t talk however – I have taken to yoga shorts, sweatpants shorts, basically anything that is shorts and doesn’t have to button this summer – keeping it classy.

Leave a Reply

