One Of My Favorite Things: FRITTATA

I adore frittatas! They are so yummy, can be eaten for any meal and you can completely personalize them by adding whatever ingredients you like. They are like giant omelets, but better.

I made this frittata for dinner the other night and I did a step by step picture guide to show you how it’s done. You can very easily make this frittata a vegetarian option by removing the bacon and prosciutto and using olive or vegetable oil to grease your skillet instead.

Here is what I used

7 eggs (Omega 3 4Grain Large Eggs) whisked

Cherry Tomatoes (About 10)

1 slice Prosciutto chopped

4- 5 pieces of Artichoke Heart, chopped

3 Medium Size White Mushrooms ,chopped

4 Mini Sweet Peppers, chopped

2 Shallots, chopped

1/4 cup of chopped fresh Vidalia onion

2 large cloves of garlic, minced

2-3 Cups of fresh Spinach

3 slices of thick cut bacon

Italian blend cheese, 1/3- 1/2 Cup

Kosher Salt

Fresh Cracked Black Pepper

Chili Powder

Cayenne Pepper

Red Pepper Flake

While heating my cast iron skillet over medium heat and preheating my oven to 375 degrees I began prepping my veggies, by washing chopping and organizing them into cups. This may take extra time, but it makes the whole process easier as I add to things to my pan down the road.

Once my skillet was hot I added and cooked my bacon, not until it was super crisp, just cooked then I removed my bacon to paper towels to let it cool. I left the bacon grease in the skillet and made sure to swirl it a few times to cover the sides as well as the bottom of the pan. I turned the heat down a bit to medium low heat and added my chopped onions.

I allowed my onions to caramelize, stirring them often.

While my onions were caramelizing and once my bacon had cooled a bit I chopped it into bite size pieces.

Once my onions had caramelized I added my chopped mini peppers and shallots. Stirring often.

With my onion mix having heated for a few minutes I then added my mushroom, artichoke, cherry tomatoes, prosciutto and garlic and heated for a few minutes, turning the heat closer to medium. It was then time to add my spinach. You want to allow the spinach to wilt. Stirring occasionally.

Once the spinach had wilted and reduced I added the bacon back to the mixture and added some spices. I added a bit of kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, some cayenne pepper, a bit of red pepper flake and a dash of chili powder. I then blended the mixture well so that all ingredients were evenly distributed throughout the skillet.

I tossed about a 1/3 cup of Reduced Fat Shredded Italian Blend Cheese into the eggs added a pinch of salt and pepper and beat lightly with a fork to blend.

I then poured the egg mixture over the contents of the skillet and gave a quick stir to incorporate.

I allowed the mixture to cook on the range top for a few minutes until the sides started to lighten. I then removed the skillet from the stove top and placed it in the oven to finish cooking. You want to bake this for about 10-15 minutes or until a took pick comes out clean when placed in the center of the pan.

Your finished product will be slightly brown on the side and top and should be ready for slicing almost immediately.

Slice, plate and serve. My BF likes his with a bit of sour cream on the side, but I enjoy mine plain. You could also serve with salsa. This was absolutely delicious and we had left overs for breakfast the next day.

I hope you enjoy this recipe. Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “One Of My Favorite Things: FRITTATA

  1. Oh my, this is so much prettier than my squished up scrambled omelette messes I make most afternoons. Those veggies look bomb. Great illustrations – great recipe! You go!

  2. Christen, this post rocks! I love all the pictures and step by step instructions. Did you use an iron skillet? I didn’t catch that. I’m thinking this is a good sunday brunch and I want to make it, but I don’t have an iron skillet. I might have to buy one. Can I put a regular skillet in the oven? Haha! All these questions.
    I love all the veggies you put into this one–especially the artichokes. And the spinach. Brad and I will love this, and I know I said I don’t cook, but after that convo with you and another convo with someone else, I went grocery shopping and stood in the kitchen for an hour chopping veggies for the week. And I bought some containers to put them in and I’m thinking it’s tastier and healthier and cheaper to cook for myself, even if Brad doesn’t eat with me. And heck, maybe I will INVITE someone over! So I’m gonna try a frittata for the first time next Sunday. I will let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚

    • I am thrilled that you like this post and want to try it out!
      Yes, I did use a cast iron skillet and no, you can’t put a regular skillet in the oven, unless it is oven safe.
      I would recommend you get either a cast iron skillet because they are so versatile, but if you want something you can clean with soap and water then they also have enamel coated cast iron ware as well. I have an enamel coated cast iron dutch oven and I love it!
      The beauty of the Frittata is that it is really good reheated so even if Brad doesn’t get to eat with you he can just throw some in the microwave and enjoy something just as tasty too.
      Let me know how it goes. I am so stoked that you are trying the home cooking thing. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

