Microwave Single Serve High Protein High Fiber Muffins

My mom showed me this recipe when I was out visiting her and now I’m addicted to these high protein high fiber breakfast muffins.  This is super easy and once you try it I have a feeling you will love it.
Here is what you need:
1/4 Cup Milled Flax (I used cold milled flax that I found at Costco)
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. coconut oil (I used organic coconut oil)
1 tsp. honey (the original recipe called for Stevia, but I prefer honey because I just don’t trust that Stevia stuff yet.  Anyone have the info on this stuff?)
1 egg (I used Omega 3 egg by 4 Grain)
1 Tbsp quick cooking Oatmeal (optional)
Grab a coffee mug and put in your ingredients and mix until combined.
If you added the oatmeal I suggest letting this sit for a minute, but you don’t have to.
Microwave on high for 50-55 secs.
Turn your mug upside-down over a plate and viola, instant breakfast muffin.

Bam! Instant muffin. No muss no fuss.

Taa-daa! It’s magic. 😀

I added up all the ingredients in calorie counter and it came out to just over 300 done my way, but I’m sure omitting the oatmeal and using a different sweetener can get you under three hundred. Mine came out to about 13g protein and 11g of fiber.

I added less than a tsp of smart butter and about a tsp and a half of jelly to mine, which added a few calories, but I it makes the muffin a little less dry and I get everything I need to start my morning off right. I’ve already played with adding dried cherries and it seems to work, but obviously this increases the calories as well, so be aware of what you add and ask yourself if it’s really necessary.  I suppose if I was in a mood I could try adding some dark chocolate chips and see what happens, but like I said it all adds up.
If you have any questions let me know. Have a great day!

Okay, it’s not magic, but this early in the morning it certainly feels like magic. 😀

8 thoughts on “Microwave Single Serve High Protein High Fiber Muffins

  1. This totally looks like the bomb! And I love that they are single serve because I’m the only one who eats this stuff, which means I would have to eat the whole pan if I made a pan. And that’s just not good. 🙂 I’m going to try this one.
    Stevia is fine. Stevia is actually a plant and it’s been used in its country of origin for a very long time and it’s much better for you than other sweeteners like aspartame. Don’t be afraid to use it.

    • So good and thank you for clarifying on Stevia. I always worry about crazy chemicals in sweeteners.
      Today I made my muffin with 1 tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice and 1 tsp of Cinnamon and it was SO good. I think I might try that again tomorrow with maple syrup instead of honey and see what happens.
      Soon you will be addicted, like me and will be trying all sorts of different options. 😀

Leave a Reply

