P90X Phase 1 Complete: Progress Pics

So If you are new to my blog, welcome and let me catch you up.  Last January my BF and I moved to Oregon for him to take a short-term contract with a well-known tech company.  I was feeling rather blah and needed something to keep me from going stir crazy while living in the land of non-stop rain.

Having fallen out of my old fitness routine I decided to give it another go, but needed something that I could do in the apartment and would keep my attention for longer than a hot minute.  I decided to purchase the Brazilian Butt Lift DVD program.  As I had purchased the P90X system on a previous occasion, which I had used, but not followed religiously, I felt comfortable buying another of the Beachbody products.

I started this blog when we moved to Oregon, another sanity saving measure, and I decided that the best way to keep myself honest and on the right track was to include my fitness progress and results on my blog.  That way all of you loyal readers out there would hold me accountable if I fell off the wagon.  If you would like to go back to my first fitness post to see where I started, please do so here.

Here is where I stand today, which is actually the 11th not the 12th when this will be published due to a scheduling conflict with another post of mine.  I am nothing if not anal.  😀   After 20 weeks of killing it with the Brazilian Butt Lift I felt it was time to seek a new challenge.  I had always felt a bit guilty for not having given my all at the start of my P90X journey and I made up my mind that this time I would do it right, so three weeks ago I began Phase 1.  Today was my last workout of this phase and tomorrow is my rest day.  I am pretty stoked so far.

The only time I did not follow the program was in the first week when a three-day road trip out-of-town to visit my family interrupted that week right after my first three days, but I came back at it as soon as I got home and with more determination.  I went through the rest of that week and straight into the second without a day off, as penance.  This last week was tough, but it felt like I was making gains and yet again, I did not miss a single workout.

Phase 1 is a 6 (with an optional 7th) day a week program with each workout coming in at about an hour, except for the 20 minute Ab Ripper and Yoga X being 90 minutes.  Day one starts with Chest and Back (Pushups/Pullups) and Ab Ripper.  Day two is Pylometrics (jump training).  Day three is Shoulders and Arms (shoulders, biceps and triceps) and Ab Ripper.  Day four is Yoga X.  Day five is Legs and Back (lunges, squats, pullups) and Ab Ripper.  Day six is Kenpo (kickboxing/karate) and finally day seven is your choice of a rest day or X Stretch.  If this sounds tough, that is because it is.  This program isn’t designed for you to half-ass, though even if you do it like I used to by picking and choosing what you wanted to do every other day, you still get a good workout.  If you do it how it was meant to be done, you will definitely see results.

Let me get down to the progress I have made.  For those that want to know I am using 8 lb. weights and heavy bands for all of my workouts.

Here is me on day one back in February of this year.

Day 1, back,  around 138 lbs.

Day 1, front.

If it looks like I am about to cry in that last picture, I probably am.  It was a mixture of exhaustion from the first work out I had done in months and seeing how far I had let myself slip.

Here I am at week 20, after my Brazilian Butt Lift/Occasional P90X/Visits to the treadmill

Week 20 Back

Week 20, front

Week 20, Side

Week 20, Abs and Arms

I made great progress following my BBL workout.  I highly recommend it to anyone who has issues with lower body toning and I will most likely go back to it right after I finish my 90 days of P90X.  I miss dancing around my living room to Brazilian Music and shaking my butt.  I am sure my BF does too.  😀

And, finally here I am after I finished today’s workout.

Week 24, back

Week 24, front

Week 24, side

Week 24, shoulders and back

Week 24, Abs

Week 24, Abs and Arms close-up

I feel like I have come a long way since day 1.  I am definitely feeling happier, healthier and my energy levels have gone way up.  I don’t get sick every other week like I did when we lived in California, knock on wood.  In fact, the last time I was actually sick was back when we first moved to Oregon right around the time that I decided to start this journey.

My weight is now fluctuating to between 118 and 122 lbs, which is much healthier on my 5′ 3″ frame.

I monitor everything I put into my body now.  Everything gets weighed and logged into my daily calorie counter. I average about 1800 calories a day, with 25-35 grams of fiber, between 60-80 grams of protein, 50-70 grams of fat and 230 grams of carbs per day.

I still have my problem areas and things I want to work on, but I really feel like I can accomplish any goal I set.  It is a big difference from the way I started; sad, depressed and just plain disappointed in myself.  I will keep you all updated as I go.  Starting the day after tomorrow its Phase 2 and I am ready for my ass-kicking good times!

If you have any questions for me or ideas or links to great training techniques or fitness programs, let me know.

Thanks for reading!

16 thoughts on “P90X Phase 1 Complete: Progress Pics

  1. Loving the results!! You look awesome, and definitely can see the butt results 😉

    I’ve been doing New Rules of Lifting for Women, which would be difficult for you to do in an apartment, but if you have a gym membership, I really recommend it, as it incorporates more “heavy lifting”. Lots of women have had some amazing results (great FB group https://www.facebook.com/groups/NROL4W/ of supportive women who all have done, or are currently doing the program. It also encourages eating much more protein, which I think has helped with gaining muscle. Since I lowered my carb intake, I also notice a significant difference in the belly area as far as losing body fat. Just my observations 🙂

    Congrats on sticking to this program through, and it’ll be interesting to see how much more you an accomplish with your next phase!

    • Thanks for the suggestion, I will definitely check it out! I would love to do some lifting at some point. At least to try and amp up my thighs and calves a bit, my upper body seems to have no problem with gaining muscle (even with my dinky little 8 lb weights.) I am also thinking about signing up for either a kickboxing or crossfit program, though I hear that crossfit is super addictive. My BF would probably get jealous. 😉

      • I am totally interested in Crossfit; just right now I’m committed to paying at my regular gym and can’t dish out the extra money to join one of their gyms 😦
        We have a weight set at home, so it’s fun to look at crossfit.com and see their “Workout of the Day.” A lot of them don’t even need weights, but it’s an awesome test of strength and endurance, even when it’s just body-weight workouts.
        I love when women get into lifting; it’s so empowering and you end up doing things you never thought you could do!

  2. I’m with Martha–your upper body looks fab, but I think your lower body rocks too. I can definitely see improvements there. I really really need to get going on my arms, because when I see these pics, I’m so impressed with those guns!! Way to go Christen!

  3. So glad you stumbled across my blog! i loved reading about your p90x and butt lifting! And yes, oh so lifted! i do crossfit but may have to dust off my p90x. I’m 5’2″ and am 135. My goal is to reach 115…. ha ha, but then I saw your post and I think I can do it! Thanks! Maria

Leave a Reply

