Independent and Proud!

Happy Independence Day to all of my American friends! For those of you who are outside of our country, happy Wednesday. πŸ˜€

Every year on this day we American’s celebrate the birth of our nation, via the Declaration of Independence in 1776. We barbecue, or drive to visit family. We watch amazing fireworks displays and have a few drinks. We play patriotic music and fly our flag proudly. It’s one of my favorite holidays.

I remember being a little kid and my parents taking my sister, brother and I down to the local shopping center to watch the fireworks at the end of the day. When you are little you don’t know what the holiday actually means. You are taught about it in history class and it is so far removed from anything in your life that you can’t comprehend just how enormous an effect it had on your whole existence.

I like to take this day and think about my freedoms and how lucky I am to have them. As a woman in this country, I can love who I want, marry or not marry, have children or not, go to school, own a business, own property and many other things that I take for granted every day. On this day I like to remind myself that being an independent woman is something that not all other women in the world will ever experience. We are the life-givers, the earth mothers, the first teachers and protectors of the young in every country and it is my fervent hope that women all over the world will one day share in the independence that I am so very proud to have. We still have a long way to go here in our country, but every year we make gains and I am very happy to have the opportunities that I do. So thank you to our founding fathers for taking that huge, decisive step forward and thank you to all the women in this country who fought for the rights and freedoms that I enjoy.

I’ll get off of my soap box now and get back to grilling and celebrating. I hope that you all, in America and everywhere else, have a wonderful day full of reflection and positivity.

The red white and blue cheese cake I made last year. πŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “Independent and Proud!

    • It was a white chocolate cheese cake with fresh strawberry and blueberry topping swirls and an Oreo crust. I saved the filling of the Oreo’s and used it as icing on the top and to hold the berries in place. It was amazing! It took a bit of effort, but it was totally worth it! πŸ˜€

  1. That cheesecake is beautiful and I want to eat some!
    Thanks for reminding me to be thankful not just for the freedom we have as United States citizens, but also for the men and women who championed for the freedoms you and I have as women. You mentioned, owning property as one of those. I own my first house and I love home ownership! I had never thought about the fact that there was a time when women could not own property. What a glorious privilege I have!

    • It’s true that we have a lot to be thankful for in this country. I wish it wasn’t the case that we as women feel privileged to have our rights, because it should just be how life is, but I guess that is the best word for it. One day when I talk to my little grandnieces and grandnephews I will tell them that women didn’t have the right to vote when my great grandmother was born and they will be shocked and that will be a great day. πŸ˜€ Happy 4th Bethany!

Leave a Reply

