Simple Lemon and Herb Salmon and Veggie Couscous Salad

I wanted to make a light flavorful dinner the other night, but had gotten distracted by the Harry Potter Lego game and had lost track of time. Before I knew it my BF was home from work and hadn’t even thought about what I was going to make. I remembered that I had pulled some salmon from the freezer early the previous day intending to make my famous Teriyaki Salmon, but had forgotten to make the sauce and let the fish marinate. (Ooops! My brain had gone into tweenager mode the minute I remembered I had that game.)

I went to the kitchen found a fresh lemon and some Mrs. Dash and then it was time to figure out a side dish. I didn’t want to make plain old rice and remembered I had some couscous that I had been meaning to experiment with for a while now. I rummaged through my vegetable drawer in the fridge and saw that I had a cucumber, some mini sweet peppers and some cherry tomatoes and I realized I could probably do a spin on my Mom’s Italian Pasta Salad, substituting the couscous for the pasta.

First I washed then cut the veggies into bite sized pieces and place them in a large bowl. I added a less than a quarter cup of pine nuts to the bowl and sprinkled with dash of sea salt. I pulled out my trusty white balsamic vinaigrette dressing and added about a tablespoon onto the veggies and lightly tossed them until they were well coated. I put the water on to boil for the couscous and heated some olive oil in a large saute pan on medium low heat. I followed the directions on the couscous package (Essentially equal parts water and couscous with a little bit of oil and salt.) and set that to the side to cool. I then did a quick chop of a clove of garlic, because I put garlic in almost everything, and started that heating in the saute pan until fragrant. I then added my salmon to the pan turning the heat up slightly more towards medium. I squeezed a bit of lemon juice onto the top side of the fish and then sprinkled with a little Mrs. Dash. I would have rather added some fresh dill, but I didn’t have any in the house. Once the first side of the fish started to whiten towards the center of the fillet I flipped the fish, a bit gracelessly; hence the broken filet in the picture, and let the other side heat with I sprinkled this new top side with lemon and herbs. Once the filet had been cooked to our liking, slightly medium, I pulled the pan off the heat and let the fish rest a bit while I dumped the now cooled couscous into the bowl of mixed veggies. I tossed the couscous well with the veggie mix then plated the dish for both of us.

All in all I think this whole meal took less than 20 minutes to prepare from start to finish. It was flavorful and healthy and both my BF and I agreed that we would like to have this for dinner more often in the summer as it had great flavor, but was not heavy in any way. I hope you like this quick tasty recipe. Please let me know what you think. Happy Summer Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Simple Lemon and Herb Salmon and Veggie Couscous Salad

  1. Harry Potter Lego game? I freaking love you.
    I am still giggling about that (but I also like to play video games in my spare time, and also when I’m supposed to be doing other things)
    That recipe looks bomb. I love salmon so much, and the texture of couscous still amazes me every time I eat it. It’s like a party in your mouth!

    • Now if only they would invent Jameson infused couscous! I will have to work on that. ;D
      I am such a gaming geek. My BF makes fun of me all of the time about how obsessive I become when I get a new game. I have to find every single “item” and complete every level or I freak out. I’m a dork. The worst is the Call of Duty games because I will go through the whole game in one sitting. Pretty freakin pathetic, but I just can’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

