Product Trial and Review: L’OREAL Sublime Mousse Color

When I did my How to Color Your Hair At Home blog I mentioned that I hadn’t yet used one of the new color mousse/foam products, but would let you know if I did. Well today was the day for this experiment. For the record, I am not being compensated in any way to endorse or critique this product. I have no affiliation with this company and my opinions are entirely my own.

I used the L’ORÉAL Sublime Mousse Color in shade 74 Dark Copper Blonde. I would have tried one of the John Frieda Color Foams, but they did not have any lighter shade of red that appealed to me. Perhaps this autumn I will go darker and give them a try.

As you can see my roots are showin’. Time to color this puppy!

You get four items in this box. You get a bottle of developer with foam producing lid, a bottle of color, a tube of after color conditioner and some really awesome and totally useable gloves.

For real? I am supposed to use two little plastic dog poo bags for this?

You begin by putting on your poo bags, I mean gloves, and removing the lids to both the developer and color. You then add the contents of your color bottle to your developer bottle and screw on the foam producing pump top. You are instructed not to shake the contents together.

Mad scientist or just a girl with no makeup? I will let you decide.

You are supposed to pump the foam directly into your gloved hands and then apply to your hair. You will note that I am using my own gloves as I just could not bring myself to put those two poo bags on my hands.

The foam, was a bit more liquid than foam on the first few pumps so I was careful to not drop any on my skin or let it drip down my face. After a while it did get a bit thicker and easier to apply. The directions state to start with the top of your head then move to the sides and back.

I have to tell you, I was a bit worried that this would not saturated my hair. It felt like I wasn’t getting full coverage as I was applying it to the length. I thought maybe I would run out before I got to the back for a moment, but as you will see it did end up being just enough.

Once you have applied the foam to your entire head you are supposed to massage it together. This recreates the original foaming action and I would assume helps to fully saturate the hair.

After I had followed all of the steps I was to wait for the remainder of the 25 minutes of full processing time, which seems to have started from the moment I started pumping the foam into my hand. This application process was much faster than my normal routine, maybe a total of 7-10 minutes to apply to my entire head and massage.

While I waited for the remaining processing time to pass I took a wet paper towel and cleaned up the areas around my hair-line and the tops of my ears so no staining would occur.

An added bonus of buying a boxed product instead of mixing your own color is that you usually get a tube of awesome conditioning cream. Since I don’t have the money to go buy a tub of Kérastase, one of L’Oréal’s higher end product lines, I love getting these little bonuses in the box to help keep my color from fading so quickly. Now for the result photos.

As you can see the color did come out even and I don’t seem to have a hot root situation even though I applied directly to the roots first thing. My hair still feels healthy and I suffered no ill effects or irritation aside from the overpowering smell of the color when it was being applied, which would be fine as long as you are in a well ventilated area with plenty of fresh air when applying this product. It was a much faster and simpler process then my usual application and probably cut my effort expended in half so that is a bonus.

The two main problems I had in using this product was that the foam was a bit more liquid then I would have liked and I wish they had a bigger range of shades to choose from. There were the same 3-4 different shades of red at each store that I went to and I went to a five different stores before making my purchase. They still had John Frieda beat though, because I could only find 1-2 shades of red at the stores I went to and they were both very dark auburn and very similar in tone.

All in all if you are interested in saving yourself some time you could do worse than this product as long as you are willing to compromise on the amount of different shades to choose from as far as your desired color goes. The product was not too expensive, under $10.00 with tax and easy to mix and apply. I would give it a thumbs up, but will reserve the right to change my mind if it doesn’t last very long. I will update this when I have to color my hair again and let you know how long it lasts.

Here is a link to this product.

I hope this helps and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask. 😀

Happy Hair Coloring!

9 thoughts on “Product Trial and Review: L’OREAL Sublime Mousse Color

  1. Yep, I like that color on you too! Actually, I just plain old like that color! It is actually very similar to the color I used to use, but I can’t use it anymore because when I moved to Columbus, I couldn’t find a store that had it. If I was still coloring my own hair, I would use this. (I am trading services with my hairdresser, so I now will get free hair coloring!!)

Leave a Reply

