Looking For A Quick Healthy Snack?

How about roasted red pepper hummus and half of a whole wheat sandwich thin, toasted?

I am always on the look out for a tasty treat that I can whip together quickly for my afternoon snack.  I was introduced to hummus a few years ago, by a girlfriend of mine in California.  She brought a veggie tray and some jalapeno hummus to a Superbowl party and I was instantly in love.

The good news is that you can use any flavor of hummus that appeals to you for this snack.  I have seen many different kinds in the stores; garlic, south-western, spicy pepper, etc.  Or you could make your own hummus, if you are interested in knowing exactly what goes in to your food.  Foodgawker.com has a ton of recipes here.

I used the Sabra Roasted Red Pepper Hummus and a half of an Orowheat (if you are on the west coast) or Arnold (east coast) Whole Wheat Sandwich Thin.  You simply toast the bread, which will turn almost cracker like, due to its thinness then break it apart into dip-able size pieces.  While your bread is toasting measure out 2 tablespoons of hummus into a small bowl or ramekin.  This snack is completely dummy proof and doesn’t make a big mess for you to clean up later.

Here is the total nutritional data I was able to find on My Net Diary phone app.

  • Total Calories: 120
  • Fat: 5 g
  • Carbs: 15 g
  • Protein: 5 g
  • Trans Fat: 0
  • Saturated Fat: 1 g
  • Cholesterol: 0
  • Sodium: 205 mg
  • Net Carbs: 11 g
  • Fiber: 4 g
  • Sugars: 1 g
  • Calcium: 20 mg

This snack takes as long as it takes you to toast the bread which is just a few minutes.  It is a good source of fiber and better than eating the hummus with crackers, which are usually loaded with calories and butter.  If you want to make this snack even healthier you could substitute fresh raw veggies for the bread.  Many of my friends on Facebook suggested carrots, bell peppers, celery, and cucumbers.  Another way to lighten this snack is to make the hummus from scratch, like I mentioned earlier.  This allows you to control the ingredients you add and thereby control the amount of sodium and the like.  I may have to try that another day.

I hope this snack idea gets you to rethink your afternoon candy bar craving.  Let me know your favorite, healthy, afternoon snacks.

4 thoughts on “Looking For A Quick Healthy Snack?

    • I am going to try to make some next week I think. It looks pretty simple. My problem is going to be deciding what different ingredients I want to add in. I bet you roasted garlic would be AMAZING!

    • Thomas’ and other brands are available as well, though I am not sure of the calorie count for those. I’ve just noticed that a lot of the brands I used on the West Coast have different names here on the East Coast. It’s weird. It’s like Arrowhead water and Deer Park Water. They seem to be the same company and run the same commercials, but have different names. Orowheat and Arnold seem to be the same. I don’t know why companies do this? Maybe it’s just a distribution thing.

Leave a Reply

