Chocolate Chip, Dried Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

Before yesterday I hadn’t baked any special treats in my new kitchen and I thought, with it being a holiday weekend and all, yesterday was the perfect time to do so.  My BF loves Oatmeal Cookies.  He claims they are his favorite, though I have to say he says that about just about any cookie I make.  I did a little searching on the Internets and that is when Barbara Bakes, caught my eye with her Oatmeal Raisinet Cookie Recipe.  Of course I didn’t have Raisinets in my house, because I cannot be trusted to not eat every last one of them in a very short period of time, but I did have dried cherries and some bittersweet chocolate chips and so I thought I’d add my own flair to this already awesome recipe.  My BF wasn’t sure that he would like the dried cherry/chocolate cookies so to appease him I did half the batch as plain oatmeal and the rest with the added treats.

I halved Barbara’s recipe, because, as I have said before, with just the two of us we don’t need that many cookies sitting in our kitchen tempting us to cheat on our diets.  (When I say our diets, I really mean my diet.  The BF is not on my diet train.  Yet. ;-D)

Here is what you will need to make this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter (at room temperature)
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1/4 Cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Oats (uncooked)
  • Cinnamon (to taste)
  • Nutmeg (a pinch)
  • Dried Cherries (for this full batch 1/2 cup for half of this batch 1/4 cup)
  • Bittersweet Chocolate Chips (for this full batch 1/4 cup and 2 tbsp. for half of this batch 3 tbsp.)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together the flour, salt, and soda.  Add your cinnamon and nutmeg to the top of the sifted mixture.

Cream your butter and sugars until the texture looks almost fluffy.

Add the egg and beat well.

Slowly incorporate the vanilla extract and blend until well combined.

Slowly add the sifted flour and cinnamon/nutmeg mixture to your wet ingredients.  Blend until combined.

Slowly add your oats to the mix.  Do not over-blend.

Using a rubber spatula make sure that your mixture is fully blended by scraping the sides and bottom of the bowl and fold any unmixed ingredient into the dough.

If you are making plain oatmeal cookies, you want to drop rounded spoonfuls (I use a small size ice cream scoop for consistency) onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

If you are adding the cherries and chocolate do so by folding them in to the dough until an even blend has been achieved and then drop rounded spoonfuls or scoops onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges of the cookies are lightly browned.  (I turn the pans once halfway through to ensure even baking.)

Cool for at least a minute on the cookie sheet and then transfer your cookies to wire racks to finish cooling.

Once your cookies have cooled completely make sure to store them in a tightly covered bowl.  These cookies will remain soft and chewy even after they have cooled to room temperature.

So after having made this cookie in its natural and embellished states it was time for the taste test.  The BF was the judge and after a quick deliberation he ate a total of 2 plain cookies and 5 of my cherry/chocolate cookies.  I guess it’s a no-brainer.

I’d love to hear what you think.  Do you like my flavor combination?  What would you add if you were the cook?  What is your favorite cookie?  Hit me up and let me know.

If you would like to try Barbara Bake’s original recipe you can do so here.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip, Dried Cherry Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I knew the cherry/chocolate cookies would be delicious, and when you said you were making plain ones for him, I knew he’d be stealing your cherry/chocolate ones. Haha! These look so tasty!

    • Men. So predictable. It’s like when I made my banana bread with chocolate chips and he claimed he would rather have regular then couldn’t stop eating the chocolate chip bread instead. I’m gonna stop listening to him very soon. Lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

