Fire Roasted Tomato, Garlic and Basil Soup

Last month I saw a recipe on First Look Then Cook for Tomato Basil Soup and I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind since.  I was still craving it today and I just happened to have some ripe Roma tomatoes sitting in the veggie drawer of my fridge so I made a few alterations to the recipe to accommodate what I had in my pantry and fridge and gave it my best shot.  You can click the link above for the original recipe which has some low fat options as far as the dairy ingredients go.

Here is the list of ingredients.

  • 5 Large Roma Tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 14.5 oz can of Fire Roasted Tomatoes
  • 2-3 large cloves of garlic
  • .75 oz of fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/3 Large Onion, chopped fine
  • 4 oz Cream Cheese
  • 1 cup of milk
  • salt
  • pepper
  • cayenne pepper

In a large saucepan, or dutch oven, heat your oil over medium heat until hot, but not smoking.  Add onion and garlic and saute until onions are soft and garlic is fragrant.  Add chopped Roma tomatoes increase heat to medium/high and cook for a few minutes until the tomatoes soften.  Add the canned fire roasted tomatoes and basil and bring to a boil.  Slowly add bits of cream cheese and let it melt into the sauce. Transfer your sauce to a blender and blend until smooth then return to pan and add your milk and your seasonings (to taste) while heating back to boil.  Reduce temp to low and let simmer for a few minutes then serve. 

I loved this recipe.  It was thick and a little chunky, just the way I like my tomato soup, and the calories were pretty low considering that it included cream cheese and milk.  I served mine with a fresh made grilled cheese sandwich and I gotta say I was in heaven.

Don’t be jealous.  You know you want some.

7 thoughts on “Fire Roasted Tomato, Garlic and Basil Soup

Leave a Reply

