I Just Made My First PUC. Pineapple Upside Down Cake: Individual Size

I’ve said it before and I will say it again, I love foodgawker.com.  If I have an idea for something I’d like to make, I head straight there and search.  Today it was Pineapple Upside Down Cake and I have to say the recipe I found was spot on!

You can see the recipe and a great step by step, including pictures at justonecookbook.com.

For my recipe I halved the ingredients and instead of using a cake pan I used two large oven safe ramekins to create individual sized cakes.  I only had to bake my cakes for about 20-22 minutes because of the smaller size.

Two large ramekins filled with tasty pineapple goodness!

If there was anything I could say about these cakes aside from just how incredibly tasty they were it would be this warning,  whatever you do, no matter how tempting they may look and smell, do not eat a whole individual cake by yourself! Which makes them less of an individual size and more of a couples sharing size.

I am not kidding here folks.  I tried to do it, so did my boyfriend.  About half way in we both had to stop ourselves.

I’d like to blame it on the ice cream, but I think it had more to do with the sauce that came spilling forth from the center of the cake when I pulled the spoon away with my first bite.  This desert is so rich that it was hard to walk away, but it was absolutely necessary before both of us went into diabetic comas. Next time I will make two and save one for another day.

This is a great cake and if you have a big event coming up I say you must try this recipe!

6 thoughts on “I Just Made My First PUC. Pineapple Upside Down Cake: Individual Size

  1. You just taught me a new word. Ramekin. I probably will not remember that after I post this comment haha. The PUC’s look delicious and I’d love to try this too – but first I’d have to acquire some… ramekins!

  2. Hi Christen! Thank you for trying the recipe and linking back to me. I will try your idea of using ramekins next time. Looks really delicious…especialy with ice cream. I must add that next time too. =)

Leave a Reply

