How to make Individual Size Cherry Pies

Yeah, I know it’s messed up that I post about getting in shape and then turn right around and post a recipe for something that I should not be eating in a million years, but that isn’t going to stop me doing it. 😀

I look at life as an everything in moderation kind of affair. I don’t eat desserts like this every day or even every week, but once in a while my foodie side wins and I give in to my desire for something sweet. Not to mention that cooking and baking are one of my stress relief outlets. So please, don’t hate me because I am a complex individual who is willing to throw in an extra workout once in a while so that she can have dessert.

Okay, disclaimers have been written now, onward and upward. I found this recipe in one of my old Bon Appétit® Magazines. I lost a bunch of them when we moved, but luckily I had copied down the recipe in my little black book. I am delighted to share this recipe with you today. I must have altered the recipe from its original some, but it’s probably just been pared down to a smaller batch since I am usually only cooking for two.

You will need:

  • 3/4 tbsp. (2 1/4 tsp.) Cornstarch
  • 1 1/4 Cup pitted, fresh or 7 oz. unthawed frozen Cherries
  • 1/2 Cup Dried Cherries
  • 1/4 Cup & 1 tbsp. Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 pinch Kosher Salt
  • 1 Puff Pastry Sheet (thawed)
  • 1 Egg White
  • 3/4 tsp raw sugar
  • flour

First line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Next, prep your cornstarch by mixing it with 3/4 tbsp. cold water in a small bowl and set aside.

Combine fresh/frozen cherries, dried cherries, sugar, vanilla extract and salt in a saucepan and cook over medium heat until the juices are released from the cherries. Prepare to drool a bit because the smell of the cherries and the vanilla is going to permeate your kitchen.

Next, add your cornstarch mixture to the saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring often. Once this thickens a bit, a few minutes, remove from heat and bring to room temperature, stirring occasionally.

While your filling is chilling. (Sorry for the rhyme.) Roll your puff pastry dough out onto a floured surface. You want to be able to cut your pastry into four pieces that measure 6″ x 5″ (or close to) so I always roll 12″ x 10″ then mark the dough into halves on each side. Cut your dough into four pieces.

Whisk together your egg white and 1 tbsp. of water in a small bowl. I just rinsed out my cornstarch bowl, because I hate to dirty dishes when I don’t have to; saves time cleaning up. Then, 1 piece at a time place on dough rectangle on your baking sheet and using a pastry brush apply the egg wash to the edges of the dough.

Scoop 2-3 tbsp of the cherry mix onto the dough. Try not to use to much of the liquid because this can get very messy, very fast.

Fold the dough in half so that the short ends meet then crimp the edges with a fork to seal. Repeat this step with each dough rectangle until you have four pies.

Cut a few slits in the top of each pie for ventilation.

Brush the tops of the pies with the remaining egg wash and then sprinkle each pie with raw sugar.

Chill the pies in your refrigerator for 30 minutes. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and bake for 30-40 minutes or until the tops of the pies are golden brown. Let your pies cool on the baking sheet for 10 minutes then transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.

These pies make a great desert and are so good you’ll have your friends and family begging for more. Enjoy this recipe regular or à la mode!

20120325-190227.jpg

HAPPY BAKING!

4 thoughts on “How to make Individual Size Cherry Pies

  1. I remember slipping across the MD-PA border to the cherry orchards in southern PA to pick beautiful red cherries – my grandmother loved to can and baked with cherries…

    Everything here looks delicious !

    David in Maine USA

    • Thanks David! I miss the Eastern US. My memories of the farm that I grew up on still possess the most vivid colors, smells and tastes that I have ever experienced. My taste buds were spoiled from the time I could pick a berry from a plant. 😀 Thank you for your support. Loved your blog BTW. I will be spending more time there soon.

Leave a Reply

