Button Embellished Scarf

Next month my oldest niece is going to have her First Communion. Not being a Catholic, I was rather hard pressed to know what sort of present to send her and have been wracking my brain trying to come up with a good, unique gift. The idea came to me while I was picking up some buttons to fix up one of my boyfriend’s favorite shirts. I saw a pack of pink buttons in different shapes, sizes and hues and couldn’t resist picking them up. I then walked by the bins where they sell the fabric remnants from other people’s purchases and saw a 16” wide 4′ 5” piece of ivory colored fabric that would work perfectly as a scarf and, POW, the perfect gift was mine for the making.

My first step was to fold the fabric in half and mark the center width-wise. This was, of course, 8”.

Next I started sewing on the buttons to the length-wise ends of the fabric. I used a light pink thread and overlapped buttons while I tried not to create a pattern. I wanted the placement to look more random and unique. I went from the edge of my fabric to 8” in towards the center on both ends of the fabric.

Once I was done sewing on all the buttons I went back in with different color threads; mint, lilac, deep purple, turquoise, etc., and embellished the buttons even more. You can’t really see the difference in color in this picture, but it was as good as I could get on my phone.

When I finished the buttons on both ends of the halved fabric I then turned the fabric inside out (buttons on the inside of the fabric) and sewed the two 8” halves together at the end. I don’t own a sewing machine so I had to do this by hand which took a little time, but worked just fine.

Now here is the tricky part. Once i had sewn the scarf length wise I had to finish by sewing the ends. If you have ever sewed a pillow then you will know what to do. For those that haven’t, keeping the fabric inside out sew one end completely together from edge to edge. Then, sew the other end from the edge till you have just enough room to get your first finger and thumb through the little opening you have left. Reach your finger and thumb through the opening in the fabric and grab the opposite end of the fabric by the corner and pull it through that opening, like you are turning a shirt inside out. This will turn your scarf right side out and now all you have to do is sew shut that little opening you used for your fingers.

I finished by running my iron over the edges of the scarf to give it a finished look.

Here is a close-up of the finished button end of the scarf. The total cost of my project was $7.00. Of course it is now priceless with the additional love that was sew on with each button. šŸ˜€

I can’t wait to send it to her. I hope she likes it. If you have any questions about this project, don’t hesitate to ask.

2 thoughts on “Button Embellished Scarf

Leave a Reply

