At Home Spa Day!

Happy International Women’s Day!

To celebrate in my own little way I have decided to treat myself to a spa day.  I am trying to maintain a low-budget though, so instead of going out to a posh salon or spa and spending hundreds of dollars on a facial or body peel I am going to do this in my own home.  So much the better, I thought I would share some of the little tips and tricks I picked up over the years working in some of the best salons and spas in Southern California.

Here are some of the things you will need.  (Not all are pictured here though.)

  • Face Wash
  • Face Scrub (something exfoliating)
  • Toner
  • Face lotion
  • Eye Serum
  • Cotton Balls
  • Face Masque (I am using two different kinds because I have combination skin)
  • 2 Tea Bags (green tea if you have it, otherwise black will suffice)
  • Tea Pot
  • Soft Wash Cloth
  • Soft Clean Towel
  • Bath Salts (optional)
  • Body Lotion
  • Lip Balm

Fill your tea kettle and set it to boil, you can prepare a cup with two bags in it as well.

While you are waiting for your water to boil, wash your face with warm to hot water (not too hot!) and your face wash, using small circular motions with your finger tips.  Always work from the center out.  When you have rinsed you should pat, not rub, dry lightly.

Once your tea kettle has come to a boil don’t immediately remove it from the heat.  Instead turn the heat down enough for the screaming of the kettle to stop, pull a towel over your head creating a tent, and let the steam open your pores.  You don’t have to get very close and always make sure that your towel is nowhere near any open flame or hot burners.  Just let that steam relax you and get those pores ready for a good clean out.

Once you have had a good steam, turn the heat off and fill your cup with water. Let your tea steep while you head back to the bathroom for your next cleansing step.

Time to get some exfoliation going.  Just as you did with the face wash, use small circular motions to exfoliate your skin with your face scrub.  Don’t use too much pressure.  Instead, think of your fingers as an estheticians and your skin like a babies.  Light, delicate circles.  Relax as your skin enjoys a good massage.

Once you have rinsed, again pat lightly to dry.

Time to apply your face masque.  As I said before, I have combination skin so I will be using two different types of masques on my skin.  First, I apply a mint julep mud masque to my extremely oily t-zone.  This will go deep into my pores and suck out all that excess oil, with the added bonus of the mint to revitalize my skin.

Next on my cheeks and jaw line I am using a grape seed peel.  This wont over-dry my skin, but will clean out any clogged pores, while softening any facial lines and smoothing my skin.  Find a masque that works for your skin type and problem areas.  If you need suggestions perhaps a visit to a dermatologist is in order.  I am not a professional and don’t claim to be able to advise anyone on what will work for his/her skin.

Now that your masque(s) has been applied you need to let it dry.  Now is the perfect time for a cup of tea.  Remove your tea bags and let them cool slightly.  If you wish to use this time for your bath, I suggest adding good bath salt or oil in the tub as well.  Maybe light a few candles, really go for the full relaxation experience.

I am opting for a nice quiet rest on my couch.  As you can see I have my tea bags set on my eyes.  The reason for the tea bags is the tannin in tea has been proven to help reduce puffiness and dark circles.  You can also do this in the tub if you have chosen to do that at this time.  Just rest your tea bags on your eyes and have a nice little rest.

Once your masque(s) is dry and you are ready to move to the next step, head back to your bathroom.  I am removing my peel-off masque first by starting at the bottom corner and lifting up.

Next I remove my mud masque with a soft wash cloth that has been soaked in warm water.

Once the masque(s) has been removed you want to do one final rinse and then I suggest you soak you wash cloth in hot water.  Once again you don’t want to scald yourself, but get it warm enough for your comfort level and set it on your face pressing lightly into your skin on the forehead and chin and then onto your cheeks.  This should feel good, if your cloth is too hot don’t put it on your face right away; let it cool a little first.  Then pat dry again or you can let your skin air dry.  This shouldn’t take very long.

Now it’s time to use your toner.  Using your cotton ball or pad lightly caress your face with your toner.  Your skin should be looking very healthy by now.

Once your toner is dry it is time to apply your lotion.  Use your light circular strokes again.

Lastly, it’s time to hydrate those eyes and lips, if you like.  Apply your eye serum with your middle or fourth fingers using a light patting motion.  Don’t rub. If you have a moisturizing lip balm apply that to your lips.

Your facial is complete.  Enjoy your well pampered skin.  If you have bathed and want to go the extra mile here now is the time to use your body lotion to rehydrate your skin.  There is nothing like clean, well hydrated skin to make a girl or guy feel more youthful and energized.  I hope you enjoyed my tips and tricks.

Happy Pampering!

Leave a Reply

