How to Wave Your Hair

They say you can’t always get what you want and I have always wanted to have curly hair, but that just wasn’t in the cards for me.  What I do have is a head full of very fine, baby soft hair that doesn’t like to do much of anything.  I have learned a few tricks along the way and one of them is how to get my hair to look naturally wavy and that is what I am going to show you today.

You can start one of two ways.  Because my hair is so fine and doesn’t like to hold curl I usually start with wet hair, add my volumizing mouse, a little thermal protection cream and then blow dry.  While my hair is still warm from the dryer I section it into three parts.  I do a top part that goes from my bangs to the back of my head that I then twist into a top bun and secure with a small elastic band.  Then I do two side buns the same way and then cover with a light veil of hairspray.  I leave these in for at least 30 minutes and go about my business doing other things.  Most of the time I use this opportunity to do my makeup or throw a load of laundry into the washer.  About 25 minutes in I plug-in my flat-iron and turn it on to heat it up.

After that 30 minutes I take the two side buns out and run my fingers through my hair lightly to remove the twist.  If you don’t have hair as difficult as mine you can start from this step and go forward by making sure you have sectioned off the top of your hair to keep it out-of-the-way.

I don’t start from the roots, but instead go about an inch or so down from the root and apply my flat-iron to my hair sweeping it upwards and out then I turn my hand over and move a little farther down the section while pulling the hair under, then I flip back up and then back down all the while moving down the section of hair.  You may note that I have a wide section of hair in the iron at a time, but don’t take a thick chunk.  I find the best waves come from wider thinner sections at a time.

Here is an example of the first move where I have my iron coming up from under the section.

And here you can see that I have flipped my iron over while moving down the section.  Those are the only two moves you need for this technique.  Just continue to go over and under on each section.  I try to match as closely as possible when I have two sections that are next to each other.

Here is side one finished.

When you are all done I suggest you hit it with another shot of hairspray and maybe even bend over at the waist and give it a little upside down shake to add a little volume and give it a more natural look.  If you want to doll this look up a little bit you can add a head band or scarf. I myself am partial to scarves.

Here is a shot of the back.

I hope that you find this technique as easy and satisfying as I do.  I just love having a little bouncy wave to my hair.

Happy curling!

2 thoughts on “How to Wave Your Hair

    • That is huge praise coming from the All-Knowing-Master-of-Hair. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I can’t wait to come back to Cali and get my hair did by you again. I am hoping sooner rather than later. Tell Ben Happy Belated Birthday from Jon and me! MISS YOU!

Leave a Reply

