Getting my butt into shape.

I have always been a strong girl without having to exercise much.  I never looked at getting into shape as much of a necessity when I was growing up because living on a farm there was always something to be done and my parents were the type that thought hard work builds character, on which point I totally agree.  Over the years though as I have moved from place to place and job to job I started to notice that I was putting on weight.  Not in any particular spots, I thought, but more all over.

Almost three years ago I hit a low point and realized that I had been fooling myself.  I was at an all time high weight of 150 lbs. which on my little 5’3” tall body was not a pretty sight.  At the time I was working at a salon and one of my co-workers, who is also a wonderful and inspirational friend was telling me about his purchase of the P90X system.  He had given one of the disks a try, but found it a little intimidating and was going to focus on his yoga instead and let me borrow the disks for about three months.

I admit that I didn’t do the program the way it was meant to be done, but instead cherry-picked the areas I wanted to focus on and the exercises I liked.  After that three months I did notice positive changes physically and mentally and I ordered the series for my very own.  I still didn’t go full in, but worked out at least three to four times a week for a little more than a year.  I lost a lot of the weight getting down to 125 lbs and was feeling much better about myself even buying a new bikini for the summer and daring to go out in broad day light wearing it.

The Christmas of 2010 was a tough one to get through because upon going to visit my family in Charlotte I got extremely sick.  By the time I got off of my layover flight at Charlotte-Douglas International I was feeling like I was going to die.  The entire time I was visiting I was sick as a dog.  After a two-week visit I headed back home to California still feeling the effects of what can only be described as pneumonia, the flu and possibly the Bubonic plague all wrapped into one me-sized package.  For weeks after I was still feeling the effects and it seriously cut me down to size.  I wasn’t able to exercise at all for about a month and when I did go back to my routine I was as weak as a kitten.

I fought on however, and was soon back to a nice pattern again when I found a job down the street from my home working for an old Bartending buddy of mine, who had found himself the manager of a new restaurant that needed a trash talking, meme loving, ginger Bartender.

At first I kept with it and even rode my bike or walked to and from work.  As time progressed though, I started to slip.

Anyone who has ever worked in the restaurant industry will tell you that it is very difficult to stay in shape when you are surrounded by food and drinks for 10 hours of your day and, although I was still walking to work regularly, I went from exercising three to four times a week; to twice a week; to not at all.

The food and drinks on my 1500 calorie a day diet started to get back to their 2000 calorie a day size and then well past that into just plain naughty territory.   Add to this the stress of my boyfriend losing his job on Thanksgiving and my having to quit my job after serious changes were made in the staff, including my buddy and several others of my friends being laid off and by last Christmas I was up to 135 lbs.

Big changes were a’comin and I knew it was time to start getting back into shape.  My boyfriend found a 6 month position with a very well-known company in Oregon and we were going to be moving, which is a whole story in and of itself; and that will have to wait for another day.  Well after finally getting settled in Oregon a few weeks into January and with everything unpacked we were watching a little of what the local TV stations had to offer and found an infomercial for the Brazilian Butt Lift.  I had joked with my boyfriend that he would probably make that my next big gift and while laughing with him I realized that this might be just what I needed to kick start myself back into gear.

Week one was exactly what I expected.  My muscles burned and my lungs felt like they would explode and I felt woefully unfit and uncoordinated.  I must have looked like I was practicing my Elaine dance for next Halloween’s Seinfeld inspired costume.  My diet was back on track and I was back to drinking water instead of tea or juice and I remembered just how hard it had been to take those first steps the last time around and that had to keep telling myself that it would get better. In that first week I lost five pounds and that was after the first four I lost just from the move.

I just finished week two on Tuesday and was down to 122 lbs.  I wouldn’t call myself graceful yet, but my arms and legs seem to agree to go in the direction my brain tells them to and no longer just flail wildly into the air.  My diet has become much more fun to be on and I have even begun to crave certain low cal snack options instead of cringe at the very thought of them.

Today was my first day of week three and I am proud to say that after taking my mid way photos I am not at all disappointed.  Two more weeks to go before I start to throw the P90X DVDs into the mix and see where that leads.  Full steam ahead!

5 thoughts on “Getting my butt into shape.

  1. Pingback: The 12 Week Check-in: Why I Chose Happiness « cjackplay

  2. Pingback: P90X Phase 1 Complete: Progress Pics | cjackplay

  3. Pingback: P90X Phase 2 Complete! Update and Pics | cjackplay

  4. Pingback: I Am A P90X Graduate! End of the Final Phase with Progress Pics | cjackplay

Leave a Reply

